Long Island Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Anti-Statist
Joined
·
5,359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know there was bit of discussion on it during the class today, so I wanted to just get some of the information out there.

Both are very similar, however Florida gives you Kansas and New Mexico. Utah gives you Minnesota.

In addition, you cannot travel to Florida with a Utah permit, as Florida does not accept non-resident permits. (This is the main reason I need Florida over Utah, its more advantageous to me to be able to carry in Florida)

Colorado, South Carolina (FL only), Michigan, and New Hampshire operate the same way and will not accept non-resident permits, so you are SOL with either)

Handgunlaw.us links

* Florida
* Utah

Utah costs $65 + training, and is good for 5 years ($10 renewal iirc).
Florida costs $117 + training and is good for 7 years($65 renewal iirc).

Also - it is also worth note that with either permit, you are still subject to the Gun Free Schools Act (1990). This means when carrying with a non-resident permit of any state, except the one that issued you the permit, you cannot travel within 1000 feet of a school, which makes it damn near impossible to travel in almost any major city it seems.

Obviously laws are subject to change (though handgunlaw.us is pretty good at keeping up to date), I am not a lawyer, nor am I a LEO of any kind. This information and advice is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Cheers everyone.
 

·
Anti-Statist
Joined
·
5,359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I know there was bit of discussion on it during the class today, so I wanted to just get some of the information out there.

Both are very similar, however Florida gives you Kansas and New Mexico. Utah gives you Minnesota.

In addition, you cannot travel to Florida with a Utah permit, as Florida does not accept non-resident permits. (This is the main reason I need Florida over Utah, its more advantageous to me to be able to carry in Florida)

Colorado, South Carolina (FL only), Michigan, and New Hampshire operate the same way and will not accept non-resident permits, so you are SOL with either)

Handgunlaw.us links

* Florida
* Utah

Utah costs $65 + training, and is good for 5 years ($10 renewal iirc).
Florida costs $117 + training and is good for 7 years($65 renewal iirc).

Also - it is also worth note that with either permit, you are still subject to the Gun Free Schools Act (1990). This means when carrying with a non-resident permit of any state, except the one that issued you the permit, you cannot travel within 1000 feet of a school, which makes it damn near impossible to travel in almost any major city it seems.

Obviously laws are subject to change (though handgunlaw.us is pretty good at keeping up to date), I am not a lawyer, nor am I a LEO of any kind. This information and advice is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Cheers everyone.
 

·
SUPER STAR
Joined
·
5,508 Posts
From what I understand, most states do not grant reciprocity to a non-res license.

If want to carry out of state...it nay be in your best interest to get a non-res for that particular state.
 

·
SUPER STAR
Joined
·
5,508 Posts
From what I understand, most states do not grant reciprocity to a non-res license.

If want to carry out of state...it nay be in your best interest to get a non-res for that particular state.
 

·
Anti-Statist
Joined
·
5,359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
CJ said:
From what I understand, most states do not grant reciprocity to a non-res license.
Not really true.

Only New Hampshire, Michigan, South Carolina, Colorado, Maine, and Florida don't recognize non-res licenses.
 

·
Anti-Statist
Joined
·
5,359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
CJ said:
From what I understand, most states do not grant reciprocity to a non-res license.
Not really true.

Only New Hampshire, Michigan, South Carolina, Colorado, Maine, and Florida don't recognize non-res licenses.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
653 Posts
Florida renewal for non resident is $107 every 7 years.
Utah is now $15 for non resident every 5 years renewal.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
653 Posts
Florida renewal for non resident is $107 every 7 years.
Utah is now $15 for non resident every 5 years renewal.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,563 Posts
CJ said:
From what I understand, most states do not grant reciprocity to a non-res license.

If want to carry out of state...it nay be in your best interest to get a non-res for that particular state.
to clarify for those who may be scratching their heads over this statement.... Several states do not accept Non-resident LICENSES, issued by OTHER states... Florida issues it's own Non-resident license to NYers... but will not accept a NYer carrying on a PA/UT/etc. non-resident license.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,563 Posts
CJ said:
From what I understand, most states do not grant reciprocity to a non-res license.

If want to carry out of state...it nay be in your best interest to get a non-res for that particular state.
to clarify for those who may be scratching their heads over this statement.... Several states do not accept Non-resident LICENSES, issued by OTHER states... Florida issues it's own Non-resident license to NYers... but will not accept a NYer carrying on a PA/UT/etc. non-resident license.
 

·
SUPER STAR
Joined
·
5,508 Posts
deathsythe said:
Not really true.

Only New Hampshire, Michigan, South Carolina, Colorado, Maine, and Florida don't recognize non-res licenses.
For the purposes of this conversation, when I say that a state will not recognize a non-res license, I mean that they will not recognize a non-res issued by a state OTHER than that state.

CA, CT, HI, IL, MD, MA, NJ, NY, OR, RI, and WI do NOT accept any license issued by another state. So, add those to NH, MI, SC, CO, ME, and FL that don't recognize non-res licenses....we now have 17 states (make it 16 since NY is one of them) that I can find that will not allow me to carry on a non-res. I'd be willing to bet that there is some gray areas in other states with a non-res license issued by another state.
Just be careful and do you homework before you carry as a NY-er on a PA non-resident in TN is all I'm getting at. If I am wrong, please school me, I am all ears.

http://www.handgunlaw.us/documents/USReciprocity.pdf
 

·
SUPER STAR
Joined
·
5,508 Posts
deathsythe said:
Not really true.

Only New Hampshire, Michigan, South Carolina, Colorado, Maine, and Florida don't recognize non-res licenses.
For the purposes of this conversation, when I say that a state will not recognize a non-res license, I mean that they will not recognize a non-res issued by a state OTHER than that state.

CA, CT, HI, IL, MD, MA, NJ, NY, OR, RI, and WI do NOT accept any license issued by another state. So, add those to NH, MI, SC, CO, ME, and FL that don't recognize non-res licenses....we now have 17 states (make it 16 since NY is one of them) that I can find that will not allow me to carry on a non-res. I'd be willing to bet that there is some gray areas in other states with a non-res license issued by another state.
Just be careful and do you homework before you carry as a NY-er on a PA non-resident in TN is all I'm getting at. If I am wrong, please school me, I am all ears.

http://www.handgunlaw.us/documents/USReciprocity.pdf
 
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
Top