Long Island Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today was the second time I have been to Suffolk Shooting Supply. The first time was a few months ago. I had gone in with my girlfriend and was in themarket for a Smith 41 or a High Standard. When I walked in I asked the guy behind the counter if they had any of the aformentioned pistols and he didn't respond. I asked him a second time and was told I couldn't handle handguns without a permit and that they had put all of the handguns away already (despite it being about 1:00PM. I mentioned to him I was a police officer and his attitude did a 180. I then also did a 180 and left the store with my girlfriend. Today I figured since I was in the area I would give them another shot. I walked into the store as a guy sitting on a stool just inside the front door was wiping down a chrome revolver of some sort, cylinder closed and his finger all the way on the trigger pointing about 45 degrees to the front door. Two strikes was enough for me. After time in the Marine Corps, Coast Gurad and the police I can see the lack of safety and courtsey in this store is enough to keep me from ever returning. I gues there is no need to go anywhere but Hunter Sports or the Freeport R&R anyhow.....................Rich

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
I'm not seeing what was wrong with him telling you that you need a permit to handle a handgun... Although better muzzle/trigger discipline is in order, when a display piece is constantly man-handled it ALL needs to be wiped down. I have been in this store several times I have always noticed the look/touch method of making sure a weapon is clear while handling. If you read reviews from other members I think you may give them another shot. They are a good group in there.

·
Registered
2,972 Posts
Sgt Squid said: