Long Island Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I use two store in Nassau. Both are on the south shore. One is South shore sportsman. It's in Merrick and I've known Mike and his brother James for about 30 years. We all grew up around the block from each other. Nice guys, very helpful, very into getting our youth involved-they give hunter safety courses regularly. The second store I use is Hunter Sports. The owner Mark is ALWAYS supportive of all of our interests. He donates time and money to our gun clubs game dinner as well as donations for shotguns to raffle off. He is also the owner of the skeet range in Yaphank.

Bottom line 2 great shop and you cant go wrong with either.

Sab

·
Registered
62 Posts
+1 for South Shore Sportsman, Worked with mike for a brief time, great guy!  8)

·
Registered
176 Posts
+1 for Mark at Hunter Sports. I've been doing business with him for close to 10 years now. Stand up guy. stand up crew and definitely a staunch supporter of ALL of our rights as gun owners. His FFL fees are extremely reasonable and he does not have that typical "gun store guy" attitude, if you know what I mean.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
dv0042 said:
I didn't know that mark owned Suffolk Clays...learn something new every day.
Yeah...he got put thru the ringer and had to stand walk on egg shells to get the range and keep it open. Definately a stand up guy

·
Registered
176 Posts
Sab said:
Yeah...he got put thru the ringer and had to stand walk on egg shells to get the range and keep it open. Definately a stand up guy
As far as I know, he is still fighting the community and the county on this. He's won a few rounds, but the fight is still ongoing...

·
Banned
6,050 Posts
I stopped by both South Shore and Hunter Sports yesterday....I have found where I'll be making handgun purchases from now on....both stores had a great selection, reasonable prices and VERY friendly and knowledgeable staff.