Long Island Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

First time poster. I’m currently in the process of getting (hopefully) my permit.

I had my “interview”, completed the second round of paperwork where they wanted questionnaires filled out by two of my references.

Now it gets kicked to the State Police.
Anyone have a guestimate as to how long until I hear yes or no?

I’m a Vet, no criminal history to speak of, honorable discharge. Work full time, lived in my home for 16 years. Married 20. Wife approves and submitted affidavit. I’m not expecting to get denied, but I never say never when it comes to dealing with any level of government.

Thanks!

·
Sifting Through the Ruins
8,002 Posts
The NY Penal law says they have to issue within 6 months of application.

·
Registered
10 Posts
I think someone posted the other day that they just received theirs. They submitted the application in March 2020 to the SCPD.

·
Premium Member
205 Posts
Myth99 what county are you in? If you are in Suffolk, Striper is correct. The Nassau timeline is also probably about 1yr.

I am curious about one thing: You mentioned that there was a follow up and that two out of your four references were asked to complete additional questionnaires before sending your application to the State? I ask because In Nassau and Suffolk (unless you live in a town where the issuing authority is the Sheriff) the actual Counties are the issuing authorities — found your comment interesting.

·
Registered
10 Posts
It appears that SCPD is working on a 19 month backlog. However Suffolk Sheriff’s Dept is working on a 9 month backlog.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Appreciate the feedback, All.

I’m kicking myself for waiting so long to apply, but I have “long guns” and felt secure.

I initially submitted my app in July 2020, had my interview in August 2021. Our government works hard for us 😂🤣😂

·
Registered
7,441 Posts