Long Island Shooters Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Banned
1,023 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi...Im fairly new to shooting and i have a question about my .270 x-bolt mounted with a Bushnell Elite scope. I've only taken the gun on 4 range trips, and noticed today that i was shooting an inch higher without making any adjustments to the scope. The mounts have 4 screws each instead of the normal 2 and everything seems tight. I was still grouping, but just a little off where I had been. Is it common to have to make minor scope adjustments now and then (2 clicks)? I am a new to shooting so maybe I was doing something different today than i had been and its shooter caused? I've used the same ammo each time. Thanks.

·
Registered
53 Posts
SOME SCOPES ARE VERY SENSITIVE EVEN TOO A MINOR HIT.I HAD A BUSHNELL SCOPE ON MY .22 RIFLE AND HAD TO MAKE ADJUSTMENTS HERE AND THERE BUT I THINK THAT WAS FROM HAVING MY RIFLE IN MY TRUNK IN A SOFT CASE AND BOUNCING AROUND IN THE BACK.DID THIS HAPPEN WHEN YOU WERE SHOOTING THE GUN AT THE RANGE OR YOU JUST GOT THERE AND NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE SCOPE?DO YOU KEEP YOUR GUN IN A CASE?

·
Banned
1,023 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
After doing some research online, im beginning to think the warm temperatures today were the cause. I was shooting it in 50-60 degree weather before. Today it was in the mid 80's, and apparently the bullets trajectory is different in warmer temperatures, i.e. less drop. Have you guys experienced this?

·
SASI Firearms Chairman, LISAPA Training Committee
6,404 Posts
Yes. Temperature is a factor, in shooting and the ballistic characteristics of your ammo. Wind is another factor. Also, you don't mention if you were using the same ammo. That could, also, be a factor. Were you shooting from the same position and at the same distances?
Gary

·
The Artist formally known as AR_Guy
6,913 Posts