Long Island Shooters Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Assault is a behavior; Not a weapon.
Joined
·
12,115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Anyone here have a Mass or Rhode Island license?

Can you point me in the direction to get applications?
 

·
Assault is a behavior; Not a weapon.
Joined
·
12,115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hi,

Anyone here have a Mass or Rhode Island license?

Can you point me in the direction to get applications?
 

·
Assault is a behavior; Not a weapon.
Joined
·
12,115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Anyone?

Anyone?

Buehler?
 

·
Assault is a behavior; Not a weapon.
Joined
·
12,115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Anyone?

Anyone?

Buehler?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,119 Posts
My guess would be start with the Mass State Police. I got my PL there in 89 when I lived there. Every town handled it's own residents.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,119 Posts
My guess would be start with the Mass State Police. I got my PL there in 89 when I lived there. Every town handled it's own residents.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
38,956 Posts
Massachusetts

Massachusetts residents desiring a concealed carry permit apply to the local Chief of Police and therefore permit issuance is administered differently everywhere. In some localities it is very hard to get a concealed carry permit, in others, it is fairly easy.

Non-resident Massachusetts concealed carry licenses are issued by the Department of Public Safety, and therefore have the benefit of being administered uniformly. Call (617) 660-4780 or write the address below for a non-resident application packet.

Dept of Public Safety
Firearms Records Bureau
200 Arlington St. Suite 2200
Chelsea, MA 02150
A photocopy of your concealed carry license from your home state is required, and I suggest enclosing photocopies of any additional licenses you may have. If your home state does not issue licenses, proof of a clean criminal record will suffice. No character references are required. A single set of fingerprints are required, but this does not necessitate a visit to Massachusetts - your local law enforcement may take them for you.

Renewals are required annually and require only a photocopy of your Massachusetts and home state license, and a $10 check or money order payable to the Commissioner of Public Safety.

Warning: The Firearms Records Bureau is chronically backloged. License holders should mail in their annual renewals no fewer than three months before their license expires! Holders of expired licenses, of course, may not legally carry until their renewed license arrives.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island issues permits to non-residents on a discretionary basis. To receive an application packet, send a large (9"×12") self-addressed stamped envelope to:

Attorney General's Office
Firearms Licensing
72 Pine Street
Providence, RI
Be sure to point out you need an application for a new license as well as a fingerprint card, or you might get the renewal application. A CCW from your home state is a big help, but is not required. Your local police chief must sign the application certifying that you live where you claim to, and giving him a chance to comment on your application. Additionally, you must take a basic range test from an NRA certified instructor. Licenses may take up to 45 days to process.
Once issued, you have 14 days to pick up the license in person and have your thumbprint added to the back. Two 1" square photographs are required.

The license costs $20 and is good for two years. For more information about the process, phone the Bureau of Criminal Investigation at the Attorney General's Office at (401) 274-4400, Ext. 2232 or 2254.

http://www.recguns.com/Sources/IIC1b.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
38,956 Posts
Massachusetts

Massachusetts residents desiring a concealed carry permit apply to the local Chief of Police and therefore permit issuance is administered differently everywhere. In some localities it is very hard to get a concealed carry permit, in others, it is fairly easy.

Non-resident Massachusetts concealed carry licenses are issued by the Department of Public Safety, and therefore have the benefit of being administered uniformly. Call (617) 660-4780 or write the address below for a non-resident application packet.

Dept of Public Safety
Firearms Records Bureau
200 Arlington St. Suite 2200
Chelsea, MA 02150
A photocopy of your concealed carry license from your home state is required, and I suggest enclosing photocopies of any additional licenses you may have. If your home state does not issue licenses, proof of a clean criminal record will suffice. No character references are required. A single set of fingerprints are required, but this does not necessitate a visit to Massachusetts - your local law enforcement may take them for you.

Renewals are required annually and require only a photocopy of your Massachusetts and home state license, and a $10 check or money order payable to the Commissioner of Public Safety.

Warning: The Firearms Records Bureau is chronically backloged. License holders should mail in their annual renewals no fewer than three months before their license expires! Holders of expired licenses, of course, may not legally carry until their renewed license arrives.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island issues permits to non-residents on a discretionary basis. To receive an application packet, send a large (9"×12") self-addressed stamped envelope to:

Attorney General's Office
Firearms Licensing
72 Pine Street
Providence, RI
Be sure to point out you need an application for a new license as well as a fingerprint card, or you might get the renewal application. A CCW from your home state is a big help, but is not required. Your local police chief must sign the application certifying that you live where you claim to, and giving him a chance to comment on your application. Additionally, you must take a basic range test from an NRA certified instructor. Licenses may take up to 45 days to process.
Once issued, you have 14 days to pick up the license in person and have your thumbprint added to the back. Two 1" square photographs are required.

The license costs $20 and is good for two years. For more information about the process, phone the Bureau of Criminal Investigation at the Attorney General's Office at (401) 274-4400, Ext. 2232 or 2254.

http://www.recguns.com/Sources/IIC1b.html
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
594 Posts
I thought MA required you to apply in person and was $100 for just one year.If it can be done by mail that's an added bonus.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
594 Posts
I thought MA required you to apply in person and was $100 for just one year.If it can be done by mail that's an added bonus.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top