Long Island Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
309 Posts
I'm a newbie...go easy on me

I have fixed mag ar15... First, I brought it in to check my gun cuz bolt catch jammed and it covered the warranty-They took care of it.

I went to range first time today ( damn too hot) w/ xm855 55gr 5.56 and...it does it again argh...after 53 rds. Bolt catch jammed.

I see the bolt catch bent forward and got stuck.

The problem is bolt catch jammed.

Why is it jbent forward/jammed ? Is it cuz of fixed mag? What's causing this?

Thanks
Jake

·
Premium Member
309 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I know it's hard to explain...my grammar isn't great.

The bolt catch is not moving/free. BCG will not going moving into barrel. It is dragging and stop in middle of feeding cuz bolt catch will not free it.

Yes it's ds 15.

Jake

·
Registered
7,861 Posts
I hear horror stories of fixed mag AR's. If I were you I'd swap it over by using a spur or thordsen and removing the FS. Having to open up an AR really makes it difficult to correct jams( as you're seeing) and loading is slooow and a pain in.......
IMO of course. Hope you get it worked out quickly, let us know how you make out.

·
#1 Grade A Super Stud
1,284 Posts
I know it's hard to explain...my grammar isn't great.

The bolt catch is not moving/free. BCG will not going moving into barrel. It is dragging and stop in middle of feeding cuz bolt catch will not free it.

Yes it's ds 15.

Jake
That didn't help much. Bring it to the dealer. He wants to help- not many would do that

·
#1 Grade A Super Stud
1,284 Posts
I hear horror stories of fixed mag AR's. If I were you I'd swap it over by using a spur or thordsen and removing the FS. Having to open up an AR really makes it difficult to correct jams( as you're seeing) and loading is slooow and a pain in.......
IMO of course. Hope you get it worked out quickly, let us know how you make out.