Long Island Shooters Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Opinions?
My favorite is the FN SPR a1 in .308....shoots 10 shot groups the size of a quarter at 200! Being I am NOT an expert (more an enthusiast) I must conclude this rifle is all it claims to be!

·
Registered
428 Posts
Nice thread.  I'm currently between a Remington ltr or Savage Fcp with the hs stock. Because there are no real ranges around, I'm probably going to go with the ltr as I would never be able to use the Savage to it's full potential. Doing that saves a pound and a half and 4 inches.  

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I do love the Savage. Did you consider dropping it into the HS yourself? I've seen the fcp in a Mcmillan a5, and it looks like a hell of a rifle. I have a friend who has taken big game with a literally untouched Savage 110 in 30-06 (from the "cheap"days") all over North America.and he swears by it. Although I know the 110 is not considered tactical, its a great rifle for the price. I can only imagine the fcp performing from a rest.
Now the Remington ltr in its trimmed and chopped condition is def an awesome rifle capable of some serious sub-moa groups.Do you intend on making any mods? I've heard many people like to add the Sako extractor to the 700s... Decisions decisions..lol
p.s. what optics do you intend on topping it with?

·
Registered
428 Posts
I had an sps tactical that I put into a B&C stock and bedded it and was getting sub .5 groups with off the shelf federal gold match. I foolishly sold the rifle, along with some other guns, after buying my first house about a year ago. Since then things have calmed down and I have been refilling the safes.