Long Island Shooters Forum banner

DSI - Multi State Pistol Class Utah & Florida 11-12-16

1866 Views 5 Replies 5 Participants Last post by  DarkStorm
DSI Muli-State Pistol Licensing Class - Utah and Florida - Nov. 12th 2016 10am to 4pm. Space is limited, sign up now, only $150.00


See less See more
  • Like
Reactions: 1
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Oh boy I'm on vacation let me arranget the funds and I'll be in
Pls confirm.....for Fl you NEED rangetime and if your offer of rangetime is in NY then you NEED NY PERMIT TO HANDLE PISTOL?
Pls confirm.....for Fl you NEED rangetime and if your offer of rangetime is in NY then you NEED NY PERMIT TO HANDLE PISTOL?

What's NOT included:
  • Postage for the envelopes (2+ stamps each)
  • The $49 application fee paid to Utah (then only $15 every five years)
  • The $92 application fee paid to Florida (then only $92 every seven years)
  • Range time proficiency qualification for FL. We will be offering a qualification program in December to fulfill this requirement.
Pls confirm.....for Fl you NEED rangetime and if your offer of rangetime is in NY then you NEED NY PERMIT TO HANDLE PISTOL?
How Foosel (sp?) got around this conundrum was by having the student do live fire with a shotgun, which most anyone could "touch". This is enough to satisfy the State of Florida that you're familiar with firearms, go figger!! Once you're out of New York, you can "touch" all the sidearms you want, and with these licenses you can even carry concealed in coöperating states!! Course I took last year was a blast!!

Florida law requires you to submit proof of competency with a firearm in order to qualify for a concealed weapon license. A copy of a CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION or similar document from any of the following courses or classes is acceptable:
  • Any hunter education or hunter safety course approved by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission or a similar agency in another state;
  • Any National Rifle Association firearms safety or training course;
  • Any firearm safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, junior college, college, or private or public institution or organization or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association, the Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission, or the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services;
  • Any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of law enforcement or security enforcement;
  • Any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by a state-certified instructor or by an instructor certified by the National Rifle Association.

The copy of the training certificate/document must be clear and legible and must include:
  • Your name,
  • Your instructor's name,
  • Your instructor's qualifications/credentials (National Rifle Association instructor, law enforcement firearms instructor, Class "K" Firearm Instructor licensed by the State of Florida, etc.), and
  • Your instructor's license/certification number.

Other acceptable forms of training documentation include the following:
  • Documentary evidence of experience with a firearm obtained through participation in organized shooting competition;
  • Active-duty military personnel may submit copies of any of the following documents that confirm your experience with a firearm gained during your service:
    • Military orders including call to active-duty letter;
    • A statement of military service signed by, or at the direction of, the adjutant, personnel officer, or commander of your unit or higher headquarters which identifies you and provides your date of entry on your current active-duty period;
  • Former military personnel can submit a DD Form 214 reflecting honorable discharge from military service.
See less See more
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.