Long Island Shooters Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking into buying the Sig 516 FDE swat. Anyone own one or can give some insight on this rifle. I have a Bushmaster m4 with an Eotech optic. Not as much experience with AR's as I have with pistols. Let me know if it would be a good purchase.

·
Gunecologist
2,251 Posts
Sorry, but I can't like the new Sig rifles. The last one that I liked was a Sig556 piston version. Today it seems that they are more of a marketing company (only with their newer rifles and fancy versions of their handguns) and much less of an innovative manufacture.
Look at the S&W AR or the Bushmasters that are below $800.00 and what difference do you see? For about $100.00 you can get a Samson EVO rail handguard for most ARs and still be under $1000.00. Years ago Sig had a promotion of giving a free red dot sight with the purchase of a rifle and claimed it was worth $250.00. The same sight (Chinese) was available for $60.00 on Amazon.
Their pistols, although extremely reliable and well made are way overpriced compared to the competition.
Just my thoughts and others opinions may vary.

http://www.sigsauer.com/CatalogProductDetails/sig556-patrol-rifle.aspx

·
Premium Member
7,783 Posts
I own many 'mid-level' name-brand AR's. I took a Sig AR armorers course a couple of years ago and was VERY impressed with the Sig AR's.
Here's my post from 30 March 2014: (EDIT: sorry pics are so big, I cut & pasted from the old thread where they weren't quite so large)

I'm a Sig fan, but don't own a Sig AR. Here's some interesting features you don't see on many other AR's.

- Built-in Quick Detachable sling swivel mounts on both sides of the frame
- Built-in pin to keep pressure on the rear lug of the upper - like an 'accu-wedge'
- Heavy magazine well rail
- Ridges in front of the magwell
- Ambidextious mag release
- A pin INSIDE the barrel extension to keep pressure on the extractor