Long Island Shooters Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
983 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to get some suggestions on a scope for my 7.62 AK. I have no experience with optics at all. This will be my first scope. I am using it for mainly target shooting but would like something that will still be good enough to hunt with should I ever decide to. I am not looking to spend too much. Any suggestions? Thanks.

·
Registered
7,310 Posts
depends on your eyes and what distance you want to shoot. i avoid the dust cover mounts. period. avoid the gas block mounted rails. nice way to cook your optic.

from there you have options. if you want to go with a standard scope go over to kalinka optics and get yourself a low profile, centered, side scope mount. then mount whatever you want to it that can stand up to the 30 cal round.

if you want a red dot check out the usual pk-a and obzors. very nice.

·
Registered
983 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The Robfather said:
depends on your eyes and what distance you want to shoot. i avoid the dust cover mounts. period. avoid the gas block mounted rails. nice way to cook your optic.

from there you have options. if you want to go with a standard scope go over to kalinka optics and get yourself a low profile, centered, side scope mount. then mount whatever you want to it that can stand up to the 30 cal round.

if you want a red dot check out the usual pk-a and obzors. very nice.
Wish you didnt show me those red dots now I want one of those also. I have a cheap utg side mount and was thinking more along the lines of scope for it. But as you see I am open to better ideas. my vision is fairly good I will be shooting as close as 25yds up to 200yrds. Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
5,575 Posts
4x POSP from copes distributing.

Anything over 4x is just overkill for 7.62x39 in my opinion... In fact, I prefer iron sights (aftermarket of course).

·
Registered
5,575 Posts
The Robfather said: